

10<sup>th</sup> East Midlands Critical Care & Perioperative Medicine **Hybrid Conference** 



10<sup>th</sup> East Midlands Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine Hybrid Conference is accredited by the Royal College of Anaesthetists for 11.5 CPD credits

## DAY ONE

7:30	Hot breakfast and registration	
8:45	Welcome to the conference	Dr Sandeep Dhir
	Session One	Chair - Dr S Radhakrishna
9:00	NELA: What's it done and where is it going?	Dr Dave Saunders
9:20	The rise and fall of modified release opioids	Professor Nicholas Levy
9:40	'NAP 7 - beyond the statistics'	Professor lain Moppett
10:00	Questions and discussion	
10:15	Refreshments break and networking	
	Session Two	Chair - Prof Nicholas Levy
10:45	Connected Care: Evolving paradigms of health care delivery	Professor Ravi Mahajan
11:05	Learning from excellence	Dr Adrian Plunkett
11:25	Supporting returning clinicians – an opportunity for our time?	Dr Linda Waddilove
11:45	Questions and discussion	
12:00	Lunch and networking	
	Session Three	Chair-Dr Sally Hancock
12:55	Poster presentation	
13:55	Refreshments break and networking	
	Session Four	Chair-Dr Dale Gardiner
14:20	Rib fracture analgesia pathway	Professor Anil Hormis
14:40	Prevention is better than cure: Role of medical leadership	Dr Jugnu Mahajan
15:00	<b>Keynote lecture</b> - Preventing ICU Admission and Expediting ICU Discharge: A Longterm Solution	Professor Nick Hart
15:35	Questions and discussion	
15:50	Refreshments break and networking	
	Session Five	Chair-Dr Caz Sampson
16:10	Perioperative risk assessment	Dr Sally El-Ghazali
16:30	'Perioperative medicine for people living with frailty for elective surgery in a $DGH'$	Dr Anna Whittle
16:50	OSA – Ignore snore, no more!	Dr Subrahmanyan Radhakrishna
17:10	Questions and discussion	
17:25	Announcement of winners of poster presentation and prizes.	Dr Sally Hancock
17:30	End of day One	
17:30 - 18:45	Canapes, drinks, and networking with delegates & speakers	

Format	Online*	In-person (F2F)	
	Both days	One day	Both days
Consultants/ Specialist and SAS Doctors	£140	£110	£190
Trainee and MTI Doctors	£125	£90	£145
Nurses/Retired Doctors/ACPs/AHPs/FY Doctors	£95	£70	£110
Medical, Nursing, and AHP Students	£65	£50	£90
**Doctors in L-I & LM-I countries	£40	£40	£80

\* One day registration is not available for delegates attending the conference online. \*\*Doctors currently working in Low-income (L-I) and Lower-middle income (L-MI) countries (According to World Bank) eligible for reduced delegate fees for the conference. List of countries: https://datahelpdesk.worldbank.org/knowledgebase/articles/906519

## CONFERENCE SCHEDULE 10-11 OCT 2023

CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL NOTTINGHAM





## DAY TWO

7:30	Hot breakfast and registration	
8:45	Welcome to day two of the conference	Dr Sandeep Dhir
	Session Six	Chair-Prof Dan Harvey
9:00	Management of pancreatitis in ICU	Dr Thea de Beer
9:20	Update in out of hospital cardiac arrest: Management and neuroprognostication	Dr Caz Sampson
9:40	Refusal Of ICU	Dr Nick Reynolds
10:00	Questions and discussion	
10:15	Refreshments break and networking	
	Session Seven	Chair- Dr Alan Fayaz
10:45	Role of prehabilitation in perioperative medicine	Dr John Moore
11:05	CPEX interpretation	Professor Tara Rampal
11:25	Artificial intelligence in perioperative medicine	Professor Ramani Moonesinghe
11:45	Questions and discussion	
12:00	Lunch and networking	
	Session Eight	
12:45	<ul> <li>For in-person delegates</li> <li>Talk on NHS pensions followed by Q&amp;As</li> <li>Preparing for consultant life</li> <li>Presentation skills</li> <li>Extended networking opportunity</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>For online delegates</li> <li>Recordings from previous year's presentations</li> <li>Interaction with the industry sponsors</li> </ul>	
13:30	Short comfort break	
	Session Nine	Chair-Dr Thea de Beer
13:40	Use of social media by doctors for professional advancement	Professor Madhav Swaminathan
14:00	4th East Midlands Safety Lecture - Horizon scanning for patients and staff	Dr Kathleen Ferguson
14:35	Questions and discussion	
14:45	Refreshments break and networking	
	Session Ten	Chair-Prof Anil Hormis
15:05	Early management of spinal cord injury	Dr Sarah Linford
15:25	Management of traumatic brain injury in the non-neurosurgical intensive care unit	Dr Matt Wiles
15:45	Management of major haemorrhage in trauma	Dr Alex James
16:05	Questions and discussion	
16:20	Note of thanks and close of the conference	

Main conference organiser – Dr Sandeep Dhir

Organising committee members, in alphabetical order:

Dr Sally El-Ghazali, Dr Kathleen Ferguson, Dr Sally Hancock, Professor Dan Harvey, Professor Anil Hormis, Dr Jugnu Mahajan, Dr Ian Nesbitt, Dr Subrahmanyan Radhakrishna, Dr Caz Sampson

